February 7th 2001- It Won’t Rain All the Time

School, as usual. Kelly remembered to bring my tapes in today. She copied The Crow soundtrack, Offspring’s Americana, Green Day’s Dookie and she also added a few songs to fill up the space left such as Stereophonics and Placebo. I went up to the art room in my free periods and listened to them all while I worked. I love them! The Crow soundtrack is excellent, it’s so strong and powerful and listening to it brings back images of Brandon Lee in that bleak backdrop of a smoky, dark city while the shimmering shape of the black bird glides above him. It’s art, sheer, beautifully rendered art and it’s so inspiring. That film has some of the kind of atmosphere I hope to capture in “World Against Me” and as the soundtrack captures that atmosphere beautifully I think listening to it while I work will allow me to transfer some of that darken, that unique feeling of societies black side, into my own work. And as for the song ‘It Won’t Rain All the Time’, I just love it. It’s so sad and moving. A master piece. ‘Americana’ is great too, tracks that seem to reflect real life but are humorous in the way they talk about things as appose to some of the more depressing portrayals of the truth given by other bands I like to listen to. Where I fell in love with those two albums immediately ‘Dookie’ is the kind I might have to let grow on me, an acquired taste, but after a couple of listens I started to like that too. I won’t let Mam hear them though because they have the odd swear word in them and she will only say I am weird for listening to them. It’s silly really, in the way that some kids hide things like dirty magazines from their patents I feel I have to hide my music which really is completely inoffensive but might fuel Mam’s argument that I am weird. I liked the Placebo stuff that Kelly put on too though some of it is a little depressing. Stereophonic’s “Local Boy in a Photograph” was good too. Overall I am happy as I’ve got more music to listen to so If I get bored in graphic communication I won’t have to listen to stupid dance music.

Author: raventaylorauthor

Raven Michelle Taylor (born Michelle Allen) was born in South Shields, Tyneside in 1983 and was the first of three children of Julie and Brian Allen. Following the numerous closures of ship yards on the Tyne Raven moved with her family to Scotland at age 13 where they settled in the Lanarkshire town of Cumbernauld. After the separation of her parents following the move north Raven and her siblings where raised by her Mother Julie. Raven attended Cumbernauld High School and from there went on to Paisley University where she graduated with an honors degree in Computer Animation. Since university to the present day Raven has made a living working various jobs in the office and retail industries but she hopes one day to be able to write full time, a dream she has held since she was a very small girl writing stories on her all Patel typewriter. Raven still lives in Scotland with her husband, Gerry Neary, their dog Basil and tortoise Herman. Raven met Glasgow born Gerry in 2002 when she was 19 years old and the pair married in 2007 opting for a Wiccan Handfasting ceremony in the Niddry Street Vaults in Edinburgh. Raven has written a number of books, short stories and poems and has been doing so since she first learned to pick up a pen and form words. It has always been a dream of hers to be a published author and she has only just recently taken the first steps signing with Newhaven Publishing with whom she had released her Punk Rock Memoir trilogy .

Leave a Reply

