February 6th 2001- No Tears in the Writer, no Tears in the Reader

School. It had been snowing again through the night so it was really deep. The bus didn’t get to school until just before the bell because there was traffic jams going all the way past Westerwood and the Wilderness Brae wasn’t moving very fast either. It rained a lot later so the snow all turned to slush.

I had to tell Tina that I can’t go to the Feeder gig, she is still going, I wish I was too. Some of my teachers where off because of the snow, both Mr Belkevitz and Mr Ward. Kelly forgot to bring my tapes in today but she said she would bring them tomorrow, I hope she does because I have double graphic communication and I want some new music to listen to rather than the same old stuff. In my free period I started writing some more of ‘World Against Me’. I mentioned that I was going through a bit of a rough patch but I’ve managed to get it going again. I often think writing can be like pushing a bolder- some times it all rolls along easily for a while and then it’ll get stuck on something and it takes time to get it rolling smoothly again, it never rolls freely all the way to it’s destination. I was plotting out some rough scenes for some quit emotional part of the book such as Travis’s reflection on his time in Throngate and Lee’s pleas for help. I often get quite emotional writing, close to tears sometimes. I once read somewhere “No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader”. Hopefully parts of my book will provoke some strong emotion in the readers. This could be something to work on whilst redrafting the novel as some parts of it, I don’t think, are strong enough to create the kind of reaction I am looking for in it’s current state. I want to make people feel sympathy and understanding towards Travis even though he is a vampire, a killer. That’s why I need to bring the conditions he lives in in Edgefield to life. I think it’s possible. I have certainly fallen in love with him even though he’s a murderer. I couldn’t help it.

Author: raventaylorauthor

Raven Michelle Taylor (born Michelle Allen) was born in South Shields, Tyneside in 1983 and was the first of three children of Julie and Brian Allen. Following the numerous closures of ship yards on the Tyne Raven moved with her family to Scotland at age 13 where they settled in the Lanarkshire town of Cumbernauld. After the separation of her parents following the move north Raven and her siblings where raised by her Mother Julie. Raven attended Cumbernauld High School and from there went on to Paisley University where she graduated with an honors degree in Computer Animation. Since university to the present day Raven has made a living working various jobs in the office and retail industries but she hopes one day to be able to write full time, a dream she has held since she was a very small girl writing stories on her all Patel typewriter. Raven still lives in Scotland with her husband, Gerry Neary, their dog Basil and tortoise Herman. Raven met Glasgow born Gerry in 2002 when she was 19 years old and the pair married in 2007 opting for a Wiccan Handfasting ceremony in the Niddry Street Vaults in Edinburgh. Raven has written a number of books, short stories and poems and has been doing so since she first learned to pick up a pen and form words. It has always been a dream of hers to be a published author and she has only just recently taken the first steps signing with Newhaven Publishing with whom she had released her Punk Rock Memoir trilogy .

Leave a Reply

